01
Can you use a pen name on KDP and other platforms?
KDP's authors page says you can use a pen name or pseudonym to publish your titles. It also says that after you publish, KDP may ask for a copy of the rights. The pen name has to be appropriate, and KDP says to keep it consistent. Extra punctuation, HTML, and special characters in the author field may be rejected. Draft2Digital's FAQ says it keeps the name on the account separate from any pen names. Its knowledge base says you add or remove contributors and pen names on the Contributor Profiles page. Kobo Writing Life, updated 20 July 2026, says that if you write under a pseudonym, you enter that name in the author field, exactly as it should appear in the store. You can add more contributors, one name per field. The Apple Books pre-order page asks for an author name. It does not say whether that name has to be your legal name. The IngramSpark pages used for the print and ISBN answers do not state a pen-name rule, so this page does not add one. A trade-publishing contract is a different document. None of the pages below quotes one.[264][267][270][275][276]
- KDP: yes, in the author field, and KDP may ask for the rights.
- Draft2Digital and Kobo: the public name can be the pseudonym.
- Apple and IngramSpark: these pages do not state a pen-name rule.
02
Whose name goes on the account, the tax forms, and the book?
The book's author field can be the pen name. The account cannot. KDP's account setup says not to enter the pen name in account details, and not to include special characters. The name there should be the legal name of the author, or the name of the publishing company if the account is a corporation. Payments and tax forms are issued under that name. The bank account name should match the bank's records. KDP also says that when you use a pen name, your real name stays anonymous and is not published anywhere on its website. That is a statement about the Amazon site. It is not a statement about a copyright record, an ISBN record, or a tax form. The primary author field locks once the book is published, for ebook, paperback, and hardcover. You can still update other contributors. Changing the author name to a pen name, as opposed to fixing a typo, means unpublishing and creating a new edition. KDP says a typo can be sent to support, and that the book cannot be edited that way while it is in review. Keep the books on one KDP account. KDP says a second account, under a different email or under an email already tied to an account, is against policy.[270][271][272][273]
- Legal name: account, tax forms, and payments.
- Pen name: the author field readers see.
- One KDP account. A second account is against the stated policy.
03
How does a pen name interact with an ISBN and an imprint?
The author name and the imprint are different fields. On a free KDP ISBN, which is for paperback and hardcover only, KDP registers the imprint as Independently published and the detail page shows that name. You do not type a publisher name onto that free ISBN, and an ebook on KDP does not need an ISBN at all. On an ISBN you own, you register the imprint with Bowker or your local agency, then enter that same name on KDP. KDP says you will not be able to publish if the details do not match the ISBN record, and the imprint field is limited to 100 characters. Its typo page says that if you used your own ISBN, the title or author details also have to match the ISBN agency or you get publishing errors. Bowker's contributor-entity help describes the contributor as the name tied to a function such as author. Read on 7 October 2026, that page does not say the name must be a legal name, and it does not say a pseudonym is accepted. The imprint answer explains the trade-name side. The ISBN answer explains when you need a number at all.[51][273][277]
- Free KDP ISBN: imprint stays Independently published.
- Your own ISBN: the record and the KDP form have to match, including a changed author name.
- Bowker's contributor page does not state a pen-name rule.
04
Does a pen name protect copyright?
No. Circular 32 says a pseudonym is a fictitious name and is not itself protected by copyright. Names and short phrases are not copyrightable. A nickname or an abbreviated legal name is not a pseudonym. The work is pseudonymous only when the real name appears nowhere on the copies, including the copyright notice. If both names appear, it is not a pseudonymous work. You may register, and you do not have to give the legal name. To keep it off the record, check Pseudonymous and fill in the pseudonym. To put it on the record, add the full name as well. Check that box only when the pen name, not the real name, is what the copies show. Do not mark the work anonymous. A pseudonymous work is not an anonymous work, and a work made for hire cannot be registered as pseudonymous. Records are public. Once a certificate is issued, the Office will not remove the name. For a work created on or after 1 January 1978, that copyright lasts 95 years from the year of publication or 120 years from the year of creation, whichever is shorter, unless the legal name is in the Copyright Office records. Then the term is the life of the author plus 70 years. The copyright answer covers what registration adds and what it costs. Circular 32 is the pen-name rule.[274]
- The name is not copyrighted. The work can be.
- Leaving the legal name off the registration record changes the term Circular 32 states.
- Putting the legal name on the application makes it a public record.
05
Can you use more than one pen name?
KDP does not state a maximum number of pen names on one account. It says you can use a pen name, and that the name should stay consistent. It also says several Amazon features, including Author Pages, series pages, and format linking, rely on a consistent author name. It does not say whether one Author Central account can hold more than one pen name. What it does forbid is a second KDP account. Draft2Digital's contributor profiles are where you add or remove pen names, so that page treats pen names as more than one. Kobo's author field is filled in per book, and it tells you to use the pseudonym there if that is the name readers should see. Changing a published KDP book's primary author from one pen name to another is the new-edition case on the typo page, not an edit.[270][272][273][275][276]
- KDP: no stated cap, and no second account.
- Draft2Digital: contributor profiles can hold more than one pen name.
- A published KDP author name does not switch to a different pen name in place.
Use the guided answer
Apply this to your book
The guide preserves your exact choice in the URL, so you can return to it or send it to someone else.
Open the rights stage