Skip to content
Publishing Map

Publishing answers

Start with the question in front of you

Each answer is drawn from the same neutral publishing map and numbered sources. Use the short answer, then open the guided map when the route or stage changes the decision.

All publishing answers

Publishing decisions

Costs

What the route or stage costs, and who pays.

Self-publishing · Format What does book formatting cost in self-publishing? Self-publishing (author-publisher) has an overall upfront author-cost profile of ~$0 to $8,000+ (you pay). Current planning figures: Format: DIY: Free (Kindle Create, Reedsy Studio); tool-assisted: $147 Atticus; $199.99–$249.99 Vellum; professional: A few hundred. Self-publishing · Cover How much does book cover design cost? In self-publishing, you pay for book cover design. Current planning figures are free for a DIY cover, $100 to $150 for a premade cover, and about $625 to $1,250 for a professional cover. These are planning ranges for a self-published book, not a quote. Independent / small press · Critique What does critique and beta reading cost in independent press? This publisher-funded route does not charge the author to publish, but this work happens before acquisition and remains the author's responsibility. Free and tool-assisted options are separate choices. Current planning figures: Critique: DIY: Free (beta readers, forums); tool-assisted: ChatGPT / Claude; $50/manuscript (Wordsmith); ~$120/yr (ProWritingAid). Traditional trade · Critique What does critique and beta reading cost in traditional trade? A traditional publisher does not charge the author to publish, but this work happens before acquisition and remains the author's responsibility. Free, tool-assisted, and paid professional options are separate choices. For critique and feedback, the map shows Critique, DIY: Free (beta readers, forums); Critique, tool-assisted: ChatGPT / Claude; $50/manuscript (Wordsmith); ~$120/yr (ProWritingAid). Self-publishing · Edit How much does a book editor cost for self-publishing? In self-publishing, you hire and pay the book editor. Current planning figures for a human editor are about $2,880 for a developmental edit of an 80,000-word manuscript, about $1,000 to $3,000 for a line and copy edit, and about $800 to $1,600 for a proofread. A traditional publisher normally pays for editing after it acquires the book. Traditional trade · Edit How much does a book editor cost in traditional publishing? After a traditional publisher acquires the book, the author does not pay the book editor. The publisher manages and funds editing, so the author's upfront cost at this stage is £0 / $0. Any editing you buy on your own before a deal sits outside that publisher-funded stage. Self-publishing · Rights How much do an ISBN and copyright registration cost? In self-publishing, an ISBN is free where a platform supplies one, or you buy it. Bowker lists $125 for one US ISBN and $295 for ten. Registering US copyright yourself is $45 for a single-author electronic filing, $65 for the Standard Application, and $125 for paper filing. Whether you need an ISBN at all is a separate decision from these fees. Traditional trade · Rights What does rights, ISBNs, and metadata cost in traditional trade? After acquisition, a traditional publisher normally pays for and manages rights and metadata; the author's upfront cost at this stage is £0 / $0. Any preparation an author buys independently before a deal is outside this publisher-funded stage. Self-publishing · Write What does writing the manuscript cost in self-publishing? Self-publishing (author-publisher) has a route-level publishing cost of ~$0 to $8,000+ (you pay) after the manuscript exists. Writing the manuscript comes first, and any optional writing help is separate from that route estimate. For writing the manuscript, the map shows Draft, DIY: Free (Word, Docs); Draft, tool-assisted: $59.99 per version (Scrivener); Draft, professional: ~$5,000–$100,000+ (ghostwriter). Traditional trade · Write What does writing the manuscript cost in traditional trade? Traditional trade publishing has a route-level publishing cost of £0 / $0 (they pay) after the manuscript exists. Writing the manuscript comes first, and any optional writing help is separate from that route estimate. For writing the manuscript, the map shows Draft, DIY: Free (Word, Docs); Draft, tool-assisted: $59.99 per version (Scrivener); Draft, professional: ~$5,000–$100,000+ (ghostwriter). Offers · Cost What hybrid publishing usually costs (and what you should verify) Hybrid publishing fees are not a standardized price, and IBPA does not publish one. Two organizations that do describe amounts do not match. Writer Beware says genuine hybrid costs start in the $25,000 range and can reach six figures. The Authors Guild, on 30 July 2026, says upfront fees can range from a couple of thousand dollars to tens of thousands. Use those sentences as what each organization published, not as a rate card, and get the price for the contract in front of you in writing. Checked 6 October 2026. Self-publishing · Audio ACX audiobook options and what they cost ACX does not publish one price for producing an audiobook. As of 6 October 2026, a royalty-share deal on ACX's current exclusive terms pays the rights holder 25 percent and the producer 25 percent, with nothing stated as an upfront production fee. A pay-for-production deal pays the rights holder 50 percent if distribution is exclusive and 30 percent if it is not. The distribution term is seven years. The per-finished-hour rate, if you pay one, is whatever you and the producer agree. ACX does not print a standard rate on those royalty pages. Self-publishing · Cost How much does self-publishing a book cost? How much self-publishing costs depends on which jobs you hire. As of 6 October 2026, third-party estimates already used here put a lean build under $1,000 and a professional build at roughly $2,940 to $5,660, inside an envelope of about $0 to $8,000+. Chapter and Reedsy published those estimates. They are not official platform prices. KDP charges no fee to publish an ebook, paperback, or hardcover. Editing · Who pays Who pays for editing in traditional publishing vs self-publishing? Who pays for editing follows the route. The Authors Guild, in its 30 July 2026 article checked 11 October 2026, says a traditional publisher absorbs the costs of editing, design, printing, distribution, and marketing. A hybrid publisher still carries out that work and charges the author an upfront fee meant to cover a share of those costs. In self-publishing, Kindle Direct Publishing says you can publish an ebook, paperback, or hardcover for free, and its Jumpstart guide tells you to prepare the manuscript. Neither page says KDP edits the book or pays an editor. If you hire one, you pay that person. Who does each pass, and what a freelance edit costs, are on the linked answers. Self-publishing · Cost How much does it cost to self-publish a book? How much it costs to self-publish a book is the sum of the lines you actually hire, not one invoice. KDP charges nothing to publish an ebook, paperback, or hardcover. The publishing cost calculator applies the ranges below. A lean third-party estimate is under $1,000. A professional third-party estimate is roughly $2,940 to $5,660. Advertising and a full audiobook sit outside that production envelope. KDP's free publication page, Bowker's ISBN prices, the Copyright Office fee table, and the Amazon Ads FAQ were checked on 14 October 2026. Editing, cover, and software prices are the figures already cited on this map.

Publishing decisions

Who does the work

Where responsibility sits under each publishing route.

Traditional trade · Format Who handles book formatting in traditional trade? For formatting the book in traditional trade publishing, the publisher handles and funds this stage after acquisition. The map describes this stage as: Typesetting the interior into a clean file that renders on every device. Traditional trade · Cover Who handles cover design in traditional trade? For cover design in traditional trade publishing, the publisher handles and funds this stage after acquisition. The map describes this stage as: A cover that signals genre instantly; the biggest factor in whether a browsing reader clicks. Traditional trade · Critique Who handles critique and beta reading in traditional trade? For critique and feedback in traditional trade publishing, you are responsible for this stage and must do it yourself or hire it out. The map describes this stage as: Pressure-testing the draft before you spend money on editing. Self-publishing · Edit Who handles editing in self-publishing? For editing the manuscript in self-publishing (author-publisher), you are responsible for this stage and must do it yourself or hire it out. The map describes this stage as: Three passes at three altitudes: developmental, line and copy, proofread. Traditional trade · Edit Who handles editing in traditional trade? For editing the manuscript in traditional trade publishing, the publisher handles and funds this stage after acquisition. The map describes this stage as: Three passes at three altitudes: developmental, line and copy, proofread. Independent / small press · Rights Who handles rights, ISBNs, and metadata in independent press? For rights and metadata in independent and small presses, the publisher handles and funds this stage after acquisition. The map describes this stage as: ISBN, copyright, and the metadata that decides whether readers find you. Traditional trade · Rights Who handles rights, ISBNs, and metadata in traditional trade? For rights and metadata in traditional trade publishing, the publisher handles and funds this stage after acquisition. The map describes this stage as: ISBN, copyright, and the metadata that decides whether readers find you. Self-publishing · Write Who handles writing the manuscript in self-publishing? For writing the manuscript in self-publishing (author-publisher), you are responsible for this stage and must do it yourself or hire it out. The map describes this stage as: The idea, then the draft. Yours to write, or to hand to a ghostwriter. Traditional trade · Write Who handles writing the manuscript in traditional trade? For writing the manuscript in traditional trade publishing, you are responsible for this stage and must do it yourself or hire it out. The map describes this stage as: The idea, then the draft. Yours to write, or to hand to a ghostwriter.

Publishing decisions

Timing

How long the work takes and where it fits in the route.

Publishing decisions

After the draft

The steps after a finished draft on an agented, small-press, or self-publishing path, and who does each one.

Publishing decisions

What goes wrong

Common failure points and how to avoid them.

Publishing decisions

Selling the book

What an exclusivity program covers, how a self-published book is marketed and launched, how Amazon Ads are judged and billed, and how listings and reviews stay within platform rules.

Self-publishing · Distribution What does KDP Select exclusivity rule out? KDP Select applies to the Kindle ebook, for 90 days at a time, and the term renews automatically unless you turn renewal off. While it is enrolled, you cannot sell or distribute that digital book, or a substantially similar one, anywhere else you have rights. Print, video, and audio can stay on sale elsewhere. Self-publishing · Marketing When should I start paying for Amazon Ads on a self-published book? KDP does not publish a sales total or a review count you must hit before a book can run Sponsored Products, and that ad type does not require a series. You set the maximum you will pay per click and a daily budget, and you pay only when someone clicks. Whether Amazon Ads for books are worth that spend is a separate question from when you can start. Self-publishing · Marketing Are Amazon Ads worth it for a self-published book? Amazon does not publish a return, a cost per click, or a sales count that means Amazon Ads for books are worth it. As of 6 October 2026, Advertising Cost of Sales (ACOS) is ad spend divided by the sales Amazon attributes to those ads, and Amazon says there is no single good ACOS. Judge a test by comparing that spend with the royalty in your KDP reports. The page on when to start Amazon Ads covers how the first Sponsored Products test is billed. Self-publishing · Launch How to get book reviews self-publishing, without breaking platform rules You may give readers a free or discounted copy of your book. You may not require a review, pay for a positive Amazon review, or offer a gift card in exchange for one. As of 6 October 2026, a Kirkus Indie traditional review starts at $450, and a BookLife Review is $399. Those are paid editorial reviews, not Amazon customer reviews, and a connection a reader would not expect has to be disclosed. Self-publishing · Marketing How to write an Amazon book description (blurb) KDP's description field holds 4,000 characters, and HTML tags count toward that limit. As of 6 October 2026, KDP also suggests a simple paragraph of about 150 words: the plot or idea, the genre, and a first sentence that can stand on its own. The description cannot carry reviews, links, prices, or a request for customer reviews. Keywords and categories are separate fields. A+ Content is a later block, under From the Publisher, for a book that is already published. Self-publishing · Marketing How to market a self-published book Start with the page a reader already opens: the description, the categories, and an Author Page you can claim once the book is published. As of 7 October 2026, KDP's free-book tool is up to 5 days in each 90-day KDP Select term, a Kindle Countdown Deal can keep a 70 percent royalty below $2.99, and BookBub charges a Featured Deal fee only after you are selected and you confirm. None of these official pages states a sales total that means the marketing worked. Self-publishing · Launch How to launch a book you self-publish A self-published launch is a release date plus the listing that can exist before it. On KDP, an ebook pre-order created on or after 2 September 2026 can be set up to 18 months ahead, and the final manuscript is due at least 72 hours before release. Print on KDP is not a pre-order. Draft2Digital, Kobo Writing Life, and Apple Books each publish a file deadline, and the numbers are not the same. Amazon does not state how many days before launch an advance copy should go out. Self-publishing · Promotion Is a BookBub Featured Deal worth it? A BookBub Featured Deal is a curated spot in a daily email, and the fee is charged only if BookBub selects the book and you confirm. BookBub Ads are a separate auction with no editorial selection. BookBub's pages, checked 8 October 2026, do not state a sales total or a return that means the fee was worth paying. Compare the price on the chart with the royalty in your own reports. Self-publishing · Metadata KDP categories and keywords, and Amazon A+ Content On Kindle Direct Publishing you choose up to three categories when you set up the book, and you can enter up to seven keywords in a separate field. A+ Content is a later block for a Live book or a pre-order. Draft2Digital requires at least one BISAC code and allows up to five. IngramSpark recommends three and, on the article checked, does not state a hard cap. Amazon does not publish a ranking formula.

Publishing decisions

Offers and paths

How a paid publishing offer differs from a publisher-funded route, including an offer that arrives after you post, and what to read before you sign.

Offers · Hybrid Vanity press vs hybrid publisher: how to tell the difference Calling a company a hybrid publisher does not make the offer legitimate. Writer Beware, a service of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Association, says a vanity publisher charges a fee or requires a purchase as a condition of publication, presents itself as a publisher, and takes rights exclusively. A hybrid is also fee-charging, but it is supposed to select manuscripts and do professional publishing work. The Independent Book Publishers Association says the label fits only when every criterion is met. Checked 6 October 2026. Offers · Contracts Publishing contract red flags authors should check A publishing contract is a grant of rights, not proof that the offer is sound. Writer Beware, the IBPA hybrid criteria, and the Authors Guild's 30 July 2026 hybrid-contract article describe patterns that should slow you down: an exclusive grant you cannot end, a fee that is vague or hidden, royalties defined after extra deductions, and a termination clause that does not give the rights back. None of them publishes one contract that every company uses. Checked 6 October 2026. Offers · Rights What is rights reversion in publishing? Rights reversion is the contractual process for getting back some or all of the rights you granted a publisher, usually when the book is no longer selling in the way the contract defines. The Authors Guild says most publishing contracts otherwise last for the full term of copyright, the author's life plus 70 years. A reversion clause is what makes that term end early. If the contract has no clause, or you have not met its trigger, Authors Alliance says authors are sometimes still able to get rights back by agreement. Checked 6 October 2026. Offers · Paths Self-publishing vs traditional publishing: what actually differs Self-publishing and traditional publishing differ in who pays for production, who holds the rights, and how you get paid. A traditional publisher, in Writer Beware's definition, pays for publication and takes exclusive rights. In self-publishing you are the publisher. Writer Beware names Kindle Direct Publishing as a platform that is free, the KDP terms leave the copyright with you, and you pay for any help you hire. Neither model publishes one timeline or one royalty that every contract uses. Checked 6 October 2026. Offers · Unsolicited contact Unsolicited publishing help after you post An unsolicited publishing offer is a message you did not request, often after you say in public that you finished a book or that you are looking for a path. Writer Beware, a service of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers Association, says it is extremely unlikely that a reputable publisher will contact you out of the blue to tout its services or invite you to submit, and that solicitation is one of the main ways scammers acquire clients. The pages checked on 9 October 2026 describe that behavior. They do not name a seller, and they do not count how often the message follows a public post. Offers · Hybrid Hybrid publisher vs vanity press: how to tell them apart A hybrid publisher and a vanity press can both charge you. That shared fact does not make them the same offer. Writer Beware says a vanity publisher charges a fee or requires a purchase as a condition of publication, presents itself as the publisher, and takes rights exclusively. IBPA says the hybrid label fits only when every criterion is met. The red-flag table applies those tests to the offer in front of you. The IBPA criteria page and the Writer Beware vanity page were checked on 14 October 2026. This page describes patterns. It does not name a company as a scam.

Publishing decisions

Manuscript feedback

How beta readers, critique exchanges, and paid reads differ, and where writers look for them.

Publishing decisions

Distribution

Where a book is sold, how a paperback or hardcover is printed, which ebook and print files those routes accept, how print reaches stores, whether you need your own ISBN, and which platforms host serial fiction.

Self-publishing · Distribution KDP Select vs going wide: how to choose KDP Select vs going wide is a choice about one Kindle ebook: Select is a free 90-day term that includes Kindle Unlimited and bars other digital sales, while going wide keeps those stores open, and print can stay on sale either way. Amazon does not publish a genre or a fixed page-read rate that decides which option earns more. The decision table compares a page-read payment with a sale on other stores. The enrollment page and the Kindle Unlimited royalty page were checked again on 14 October 2026. Self-publishing · Print IngramSpark vs KDP: print and distribution differences IngramSpark vs KDP is a print and distribution comparison, not a quality ranking. KDP sells print on Amazon and, if you turn it on, through Expanded Distribution. IngramSpark offers the book to bookstores, libraries, and online retailers through Ingram's wholesale network, and it is not exclusive. Using both for the same print book means you own the ISBN and you leave Expanded Distribution off. Checked against the official pages on 6 October 2026. Self-publishing · Distribution Draft2Digital vs IngramSpark: what each is for Draft2Digital vs IngramSpark is a difference of job, not a ranking. Draft2Digital is an aggregator: one upload can send an ebook to the stores you tick, and its print service lists a paperback with Amazon and with channels Ingram serves. IngramSpark is a print-on-demand and wholesale distributor that also sells ebooks. They overlap, and Draft2Digital says not to use its print service together with IngramSpark or with KDP Expanded Distribution. Checked against the official pages on 6 October 2026. Self-publishing · Distribution How to go wide with a self-published book To go wide, make the ebook available outside the Kindle Store, either by opening each store account yourself or by sending one file through an aggregator such as Draft2Digital. You cannot do that with the same ebook during a KDP Select term. Print can go wide at the same time, through IngramSpark, or through another print service that is not already duplicating a wholesale feed. Checked against the official pages on 6 October 2026. Self-publishing · ISBN Do you need an ISBN to self-publish? You do not need an ISBN to publish a Kindle ebook on KDP. A print book that you distribute does need an ISBN for each format. In the United States, KDP will assign a free ISBN that works only on KDP and shows the imprint Independently published, or you can buy your own from Bowker and use it on other services. Other countries use their own ISBN agencies, and those agencies set their own prices. Checked against the official pages on 6 October 2026. Self-publishing · Print How to self-publish a paperback or hardcover KDP Print and IngramSpark both offer a paperback and a hardcover. Order a proof before you treat the file as finished: KDP says to order one, and IngramSpark's user guide says to review an eproof and a print copy. The pages checked on 8 October 2026 do not compare the two services' print quality. Self-publishing · Files How to format a book for self-publishing Formatting a book for self-publishing means making the interior file and the cover file the retailer or printer asks for. Checked on 9 October 2026, KDP's ebook manuscript page lists Word, KPF, and EPUB among the files it describes, and its paperback page separates the interior from the cover. IngramSpark's File Creation Guide, whose file name begins 8.24.26, asks for an EPUB interior plus a JPG front cover for an ebook, and for PDF/X-1a:2001 or PDF/X-3:2002 on print. This page does not rank tools. Serial fiction · Platforms Serial fiction platforms: how to serialize, Wattpad vs Royal Road vs Kindle Vella Wattpad, Royal Road, Substack, and Medium still describe hosting serial work on the pages checked 10 October 2026. Kindle Vella does not. Amazon's pages say it closed on 26 February 2025. None of these pages ranks a platform. A later KDP Select enrollment limits where that Kindle ebook can be distributed, and the enrollment page does not name these sites. Self-publishing · Audio Audiobook distribution options Audiobook distribution options are separate contracts, and each platform states its own exclusivity, royalty, and territory rules. Checked on 14 October 2026, ACX offers exclusive or non-exclusive distribution for seven years and says it does not serve libraries, Spotify for Authors says a direct upload is free and non-exclusive, and Kobo Writing Life says it does not require exclusivity. Spotify's help says Findaway Voices by Spotify is the previous name of Voices by INaudio. Self-publishing · Files Book formatting software options Book formatting software is one way to produce the ebook and print files a retailer asks for. Checked on 14 October 2026, KDP and IngramSpark publish the file rules, and Atticus, Vellum, Kindle Create, and Reedsy Studio each publish what they export and what they charge. This page does not rank those tools, and it does not name a preferred product.

Publishing decisions

Agents and queries

How to seek a literary agent, and what a query letter contains.

Publishing decisions

Copyright and the author business

US copyright registration, DMCA takedown notices, publishing imprints, pen names, and whether an LLC is required.

Rights · United States Do you need to register copyright before publishing? In the United States, copyright protects an original work from the moment it is created and fixed in a tangible form. You do not have to register the book with the US Copyright Office before you publish, and a copyright notice in the book is not registration. Registration is voluntary. It puts the claim on the public record and, in defined cases, adds stronger remedies in a US lawsuit. Checked against copyright.gov on 6 October 2026. Author business · General information Do authors need an LLC to self-publish? You do not need a limited liability company to publish a book. The US Small Business Administration says that if you do business and do not register as any other kind of business, you are a sole proprietorship. An LLC is created under state law. For federal income tax, a single-member LLC is usually disregarded, so its activity is reported on the owner's return. This is general information from the IRS, the SBA, and the Authors Guild. It is not legal advice or tax advice. Self-publishing · ISBN What is a publishing imprint (for self-publishers)? A publishing imprint is a trade name a publisher uses for a line of books. Bowker, the ISBN agency for publishers located in the United States, says an imprint does not have a corporate life of its own. On Kindle Direct Publishing, the name readers see follows the ISBN: a free KDP ISBN shows Independently published, and an ISBN you own shows the imprint you enter, which has to match the agency record. Self-publishing · Pen name Can I publish under a pen name on KDP? Yes. KDP lets you put a pen name in the author field and your legal name on the account, so payments and tax forms use the legal name. KDP says that name is not published on the Amazon site. A pen name is not a copyright and not the ISBN imprint. This is general information from the help pages and US Copyright Office Circular 32. It is not legal advice or tax advice. Rights · Notices Book piracy and DMCA for authors A DMCA takedown notice is a written request from a copyright owner, or someone the owner authorizes, asking an online service to remove material that infringes a copyrighted work. The US Copyright Office's section 512 page lists what that notice has to include, and it says you do not have to register the copyright before you send one. Amazon, Google, Apple Books, and Kobo each publish a place to report a listing. This page is not legal advice.