01
Who pays for production?
Writer Beware says a traditional publisher pays for publication and takes the financial risk. There is no author fee. The house recovers that money from sales and from licensing other rights. You are paid a royalty. Large houses and bigger independents also pay an advance. Small presses often do not. Self-publishing sends the invoice the other way: you pay for the editing, cover, and files you do not do yourself. Writer Beware names Kindle Direct Publishing as a free platform, and says other service companies charge anything from a modest package to a very large one. A company that asks you to pay, and calls itself traditional, is not this model. Hybrid publishing, where you fund a company that publishes under its imprint, is a third path and has its own answers.[67][211][212]
- An agent is paid from money the book earns. Penguin Random House says money flows toward the author, and that a deal should not be pay to play.
- The cost calculator plans production you buy yourself. It is not a traditional-publisher quote.
02
Who controls rights and the timeline?
A traditional grant is exclusive. The Authors Guild says the usual term is the full term of copyright, the author's life plus 70 years, unless an out-of-print clause ends it sooner. The publisher then controls editing, design, printing, and distribution of that edition. You do not set the date. Penguin Random House says submissions rarely produce an offer in days, and that many take rounds spanning weeks or years, with no promise of a sale. Self-publishing leaves the schedule with you, apart from the platform's review. KDP's royalty page does not state that review as a number of days. The KDP terms say you retain the copyright. For the term of the agreement you grant a nonexclusive license, which those terms also call irrevocable, to distribute the formats you make available. No source here publishes one calendar for both paths.[67][77][213][214]
- A traditional publisher can stop you selling the same edition elsewhere. Ordinary KDP does not. KDP Select is a separate 90-day ebook exclusivity program.
- The rights-reversion answer is how a long traditional grant can end early.
03
What royalty structures do the sources describe?
The published ranges are not the same, so this page does not merge them. IBPA's footnote says traditional royalties generally run from 5 percent to 15 percent, that most houses now offer up to 25 percent of net on ebooks, and that many independents use a flat 10 percent of net. It also says there is no longer one standard rate. The Authors Guild, on 30 July 2026, says traditional royalties typically run from 7 to 15 percent of list price or net receipts. Kindle Direct Publishing offers 35 percent or 70 percent on ebooks. The 70 percent option is 70 percent of the list price without VAT, minus delivery costs, and only for eligible sales in the territories on KDP's pricing page. KDP says average delivery costs are $0.06 per unit and vary by file size. Other sales pay 35 percent. Public-domain works are eligible only for 35 percent. Print royalties are a different KDP page and are not restated here.[22][212][213]
- Net receipts, in the Authors Guild's account, usually means money after discounts, taxes, and other listed fees.
- IBPA's hybrid expectation, greater than 50 percent of net in most cases, is a criterion for fee-charging publishers, not a traditional royalty.
04
Do you need an agent for traditional publishing?
You need an agent when that publisher says you do. Penguin Random House's guide says that historically most major publishers, including itself, have not accepted unagented submissions, and that in most cases an agent is still required. The same page says the house is opening some submission programs, so most cases is its rule, not a claim that no exception exists. The agent is paid a percentage when the work sells. The page does not state the percentage. Penguin Random House India and HarperCollins India each publish a direct route and say which materials to send. An agent directory helps you build a list. It does not mean every press requires an agent, and a company that charges you is not a traditional deal because it uses the word publisher. Penguin Random House points unsure authors to Writer Beware.[67][68][69][211]
- Follow the instructions on the publisher's or agent's own site. Penguin Random House says they differ, including how many pages to send.
- An agent who asks you to pay up front is outside the model Penguin Random House describes.
05
Can you use both paths over a career?
A contract covers the work it grants. Another book is a new decision unless an option or a non-compete reaches it. The Authors Guild tells authors reading hybrid contracts to ask for those clauses to be removed. Read the same clauses in a traditional contract before you assume the next book is free. ALLi's reversion guide says that once rights come back, authors republish the book themselves. That is one book changing paths after the grant ends, not permission to sell the same exclusive rights twice. KDP's rights FAQ says you must hold publishing rights for a file you upload, and that the copyright page is not proof. Get a reversion in writing before you upload a book a publisher used to control.[77][213][216][217]
- KDP will ask you to confirm publishing rights when it needs to. A copyright page does not, on that FAQ, prove that you hold them.
- The path chooser compares who pays, who runs production, and who keeps the rights. Use it for the book you are deciding now.
- The offer checker is for a contract someone has already put in front of you, not for the general choice of path.
06
How do you choose with the path tool?
The path tool asks who pays, who runs production, and who keeps the rights. Answer for one book. Traditional publishing pays and takes an exclusive grant. Self-publishing leaves the bill and the rights with you. If a company asks you to pay and also wants an exclusive contract, that is not the traditional path, whatever the brochure says. Open the offer checker instead. The process page lists the same jobs either way, from editing to selling. The path decides who does each job. None of the sources cited here says which path will earn more. A royalty percentage is not income, and none of them publishes earnings for a manuscript they have not seen.[67][211]
- Open the path chooser for the route, the cost calculator for production you would pay for, and the offer checker for a contract.
- This comparison does not rank publishers, agents, or platforms.
Use the guided answer
Apply this to your book
The guide preserves your exact choice in the URL, so you can return to it or send it to someone else.
Compare routes in the guide