Skip to content
Publishing Map

Corrections and updates

A definitive map stays correctable

This log records material factual corrections, source changes, and additions. It does not quote private correspondence or imply that a source endorses the map.

6 October 2026

Product update

Answers for self-publishing cost, ads, reviews, descriptions, and ACX

  • Added a cost hub that lines up third-party production estimates with KDP, Draft2Digital, IngramSpark, Bowker, and Copyright Office fees.
  • Added cited answers on judging Amazon Ads, seeking reviews within Amazon and FTC rules, writing a KDP book description, and ACX royalty and exclusivity terms.
See the affected surface →

6 October 2026

Product update

Answers for agents, queries, copyright, LLCs, and imprints

  • Added cited answers on getting a literary agent and on the structure of a query letter.
  • Added cited answers on US copyright registration, whether authors need an LLC, and what a publishing imprint is.
See the affected surface →

6 October 2026

Product update

Answers for distribution choices

  • Added cited answers on KDP Select versus going wide, IngramSpark versus KDP, Draft2Digital versus IngramSpark, how to go wide, and whether a self-publisher needs an ISBN.
  • Where a public page does not state a fee, the answer says so. Draft2Digital account fees are taken from its FAQ.
See the affected surface →

6 October 2026

Product update

Answers for publishing offers and paths

  • Added cited answers on vanity presses and hybrid publishers, contract warning patterns, hybrid fees, rights reversion, and self-publishing versus traditional publishing.
  • Fee figures are limited to amounts those organizations publish. No company is named as a scam.
See the affected surface →

6 October 2026

Product update

Head-query titles for existing publishing answers

  • Retitled existing cost, process, path, offer, and serial pages toward the words writers search for, without changing any URL.
  • Added direct answers and question sections on editor cost, cover cost, ISBN fees, KDP Select, and Amazon Ads for books.
  • Linked the offer checker to the vanity-press and contract-red-flag answers, and pointed Select and Amazon Ads pages at their decision companions.
See the affected surface →

6 October 2026

Product update

Answers for Amazon Ads and KDP Select exclusivity

  • Added a cited answer on when a self-published book can start Amazon Ads, and what a first Sponsored Products test controls.
  • Added a cited answer on what KDP Select exclusivity covers, including the 90-day term, the 10 percent sample, and the points the terms do not decide.
See the affected surface →

3 October 2026

Product update

Checked listings for book advertising

  • Added official-source-checked listings for BookBaby display ads, Reader Reach ads, and PublishMe Marketing management fees.
  • Where a page describes a charge but gives no dollar amount, the listing says so.
See the affected surface →

3 October 2026

Product update

Checked listings for accountability, line editing, and rights

  • Added official-source-checked listings for scheduled writing groups, a line editor and a 2026 rate chart, two rights-reversion guides, and a BookBub Ads article.
  • Where a page describes a charge but gives no dollar amount, the listing says so.
See the affected surface →

3 October 2026

Product update

Checked listings for rights, licences, and audiobook royalties

  • Added official-source-checked listings for a US copyright termination notice, the SIL Open Font License, Wikimedia Commons, ACX royalties, and a book-description guide.
  • Left advertising, accountability groups, and line editing unchanged where the official pages were blocked, stale, or did not meet the inclusion gates.
See the affected surface →

3 October 2026

Product update

Checked listings for editing, access, and writing centres

  • Added official-source-checked listings for copyediting, proofreading, accessible publishing, research, accountability groups, ghostwriting, and writing centres.
  • Noted that Writing Diversely's FAQ and how-it-works section state different starting rates.
  • Left rights reversion, licensed images, audiobook distribution, and advertising unchanged where the official pages were blocked or did not describe the task.
See the affected surface →

3 October 2026

Product update

Checked listings for editing, magazines, and residencies

  • Added official-source-checked listings for line editing, sensitivity reading, beta readers, literary magazines, residencies, and publisher administration.
  • Left copyediting and proofreading unchanged where the official pages did not describe those passes.
See the affected surface →

3 October 2026

Product update

Checked resources for festivals, agents, and the remaining thin tasks

  • Added official-source-checked listings for festivals, literary agents, hybrid publishers, fact-checking, crowdfunding, book metadata, and royalty tracking.
  • Left fees, submission status, and geographic eligibility unknown where the official page did not state them.
See the affected surface →

3 October 2026

Product update

More checked resources for the thin parts of the atlas

  • Added official-source-checked listings for publishers, hybrid presses, proposal help, fact-checking, illustration, translation, permissions, jurisdiction-specific contract help, printing, audience research, bookseller and library access, grants, conferences, crowdfunding, metadata, and royalties.
  • Marked guides and essays, including Jane Friedman and Kevin Kelly's self-publishing essay, as reading material rather than hireable services.
  • Left submission status, fees, and geographic eligibility unknown where the official page did not state them.
See the affected surface →

3 October 2026

Product update

A compact resource atlas across the publishing stack

  • Added 149 official-source-checked resources across twelve lifecycle stages and submissions, with alphabetical ordering and no paid placement.
  • Added search-first browsing, seven journey groups, 72 tasks, compact expandable listings, and shareable structured filters, plus links between directory collections and the guided and reference stages.
  • Published per-listing evidence, restrictions, and checked dates. Inclusion is informational, not endorsement or an independent service audit.
See the affected surface →

29 September 2026

Correction

Lulu print options, proofing, and volume pricing

  • Removed the unsupported claim that Lulu has the widest print options and quality.
  • Replaced it with Lulu support’s confirmed scope: configurable print specifications, proof ordering, and automatic volume discounts from 100 copies.
  • Clarified that manufacturing, shipping, and tax costs depend on the final format, quantity, and delivery destination.
See the affected surface →

24 September 2026

Correction

Kobo Writing Life ebook royalties and reach

  • Removed the unsupported $12.99 upper ceiling from Kobo’s 70% ebook royalty wording.
  • Added Kobo’s country-specific minimums, 45% below-threshold rate, and 20% public-domain rate from current first-party guidance.
  • Replaced the subjective regional-strength summary with Kobo’s documented availability in over 190 countries.
See the affected surface →

21 September 2026

Correction

Voices by INaudio royalty and digital-narration scope

  • Replaced the secondary platform summary with current first-party pricing, distribution, and Digital Voice Narration guidance.
  • Clarified that authors keep 80% of the royalties INaudio receives rather than an undefined percentage of net receipts.
  • Narrowed AI-narration coverage to the approved-provider LPF workflow, participating retailers, and automatic disclosure.
See the affected surface →

21 September 2026

Correction

IngramSpark fee and ebook compensation verification

  • Re-anchored the 85% of net ebook compensation claim to IngramSpark’s official pricing page.
  • Recorded IngramSpark support’s direct confirmation of free upload and revision and the 1.875% market-access fee.
  • Kept the separate print-margin estimate on its existing source rather than extending the source check beyond the confirmed scope.
See the affected surface →

17 September 2026

Correction

Spotify for Authors pricing and rights wording

  • Replaced a secondary Spotify comparison citation with Spotify for Authors first-party upload guidance.
  • Removed the overbroad “set your own price” wording and retained only the first-party-supported fact that uploads are free.
  • Recorded Spotify’s direct confirmation that uploads are non-exclusive and authors retain ownership and rights.
See the affected surface →

20 September 2026

Edition update

Traditional submissions and contract rights

  • Corrected the assumption that every major publisher requires an agent or buys only a finished manuscript.
  • Added a practical fiction, nonfiction, memoir, query, synopsis, and sample-page submission toolkit.
  • Added geography-aware direct-submission examples, live-pitch opportunities, and a contract-rights checkpoint.
See the affected surface →

15 September 2026

Correction

Chapter ghostwriter source URL

  • Updated source [41] from a 404 Chapter blog URL to the live ghostwriter-cost article.
See the affected surface →

10 August 2026

Edition update

Quibble web-fiction coverage

  • Added Quibble as a web-fiction platform for ongoing serials and completed fiction.
  • Recorded its chapter-scheduling and reader-community features and current monetisation status after a direct source check.
  • Kept serial platforms separate from owned subscriber relationships and finished-book distribution.
See the affected surface →

8 August 2026

Correction

Primary-source citation upgrade

  • Replaced secondary platform-price and distribution citations with official pages from Amazon KDP, Draft2Digital, IngramSpark, ProWritingAid, Apple Books, and Amazon.
  • Updated the current professional self-publishing range and KDP print royalty tiers.
  • Removed unsupported sales and BookBub acceptance-rate claims instead of repeating estimates without primary evidence.
See the affected surface →

7 August 2026

Product update

First-edition launch infrastructure

  • Added scoped “Checked with source” markers to eight source entries following substantive direct replies.
  • Added searchable decision pages, privacy-safe activation analytics, result forwarding, and reusable partner resources.
  • Added a public explanation of what source checking does and does not mean.
See the affected surface →

4 August 2026

Edition update

Serialisation and direct-audience routes

  • Separated subscriber serials, web-fiction serials, platform discovery, and direct digital sales.
  • Added first-party Substack, Royal Road, Medium, and Gumroad sources.
  • Added a long-tail audience stage to the guided and reference experiences.
See the affected surface →

2 August 2026

Correction

Writer Beware correction

  • Updated Writer Beware resources and preserved the distinction between independent watchdog guidance and commercial offers.
See the affected surface →

18 July 2026

Correction

Formatting-tool source correction

  • Removed competitor-authored comparison sources for Atticus, Vellum, and Scrivener.
  • Re-anchored each price and platform claim to the tool company’s official page.
  • Corrected Scrivener to a per-version purchase with fees possible for major-version upgrades.
See the affected surface →

Found something wrong? Email Euwyn Goh, the maintainer, with the exact claim and a better source.