01
What are the stages from a finished manuscript to a traditionally published book?
The stages are querying agents, any revisions the agent asks for, submission to editors, an offer and a contract, editing and production, and publication. They do not share one clock. A number below is used only where that organization states it. Where none does, the duration varies and is not stated.[225][228]
- Querying comes before an agent can submit the book. The agent answer covers who needs an agent, and the query-letter answer covers the letter.
- Writing the manuscript is a separate stage. Its timing answer does not cover the wait after the draft is finished.
- Self-publishing uses a different clock, because you set the release date. The path chooser compares who pays and who keeps the rights.
02
What do agencies and the Authors Guild state about query response times?
Checked on 8 October 2026, Writers House says it makes every attempt to respond to all queries, generally within six to eight weeks. Nelson Literary Agency's submission guidelines label the current response time to queries as 4 to 6 weeks. Janklow & Nesbit UK says that if they are interested in reading more, you will receive a response within eight weeks from submission, and that they are unable to give a further reply unless they want to read more. Curtis Brown, Ltd.'s submissions page states no response time. The AALA Canon of Ethics, effective 1 September 2026, does not state how long a member takes to answer. The Authors Guild article of 25 April 2017 says some agents respond within a week, some take a month, and some do not respond at all, and it suggests allowing six to eight weeks before querying the next group. Those sentences are not the same number, and they are not a combined typical wait.[225][227][228][278][279][280][284]
- Writers House also says that if it requests the manuscript, it prefers the manuscript on an exclusive basis. The page does not say how many weeks that exclusive lasts.
- Janklow & Nesbit UK's eight weeks is a reply window for projects they want to read, not a promise to answer every submission.
- Writer Beware's query-letter article describes the letter. It does not state a response time or a production schedule.
03
How long do agent revisions and submission to editors take?
No page checked for this answer states a duration for revisions with an agent, for the time an agent spends submitting to editors, or for negotiation of the publishing contract. The Authors Guild article says an agent may ask for an exclusive while reading, and it gives two weeks as an example of a period to negotiate. It calls that an example. It is not a rule, and the AALA Canon does not set the period. Writers House prefers an exclusive when it requests the manuscript and does not give a length. The Authors Guild article also says interested agents often ask for a call, and it lists questions to ask, including how the agent submits to editors. It does not say how many weeks that submission takes, or whether an offer will come.[225][228][278]
- A writer can decide whether to grant an exclusive, and can ask for a length. The reply is still the agent's.
- No cited page states how many queries to send, or a month by which a book should have an offer.
- An offer of representation is not yet a contract with a publisher. The agent answer covers what that conversation is for.
04
What do the Authors Guild and Penguin Random House state about editing, production, and publication?
The Authors Guild model clause, checked 8 October 2026, leaves the publication deadline as a choice of 12 or 18 months after acceptance of the complete work. The commentary says standard contracts require publication within 12 to 18 months of acceptance, that 18 is far more typical, and that the Guild believes 12 is fairer. If the publisher misses that period, the model lets the author demand publication and terminate if the book still is not out 6 months after the publisher receives notice. A delay the model treats as outside the publisher's control cannot run more than 6 months past the original date. When the author is not delivering the illustrations, the commentary says up to 24 months is common for illustrated children's books. Penguin Random House's March 2023 article says the printed book starts about a year before the on-sale date, after the editor's full review, and that steps vary by imprint. Finished books ship to the warehouse six weeks before release. It states no month count for copyediting. The August 2021 timeline counts back from the publication date, which it says is being set more than 9 months out, when editorial work should be mostly wrapped up; jacket final 6 to 9 months before on-sale; the sales team introduces the book to bookstore accounts 4 to 6 months before, with store placement finalized about 1 month before; printing orders 2 to 4 months before; warehouse copies 4 weeks before; author copies about 2 to 4 weeks before; the ebook file 1 to 2 weeks before; bookstore orders at least 1 day before. It does not say how long after a deal that on-sale date is chosen.[281][282][283]
- The 12 to 18 months is the Authors Guild's account of contract language after acceptance. It is not a measured average of published books.
- Penguin Random House's year-ahead sentence starts after the editor's full review. It is not a count from the query.
- The August 2021 timeline counts back from the publication date. It does not say how long after a deal that date is chosen.
05
What can a writer control, and what is outside their control?
A writer controls the finished manuscript, which agency page they follow, and whether they agree to an exclusive and for how long. The Authors Guild commentary says the contract should specify a time frame for publication, because a phrase such as within a reasonable time leaves the date open. The writer does not control whether an agent replies, whether an editor offers, or how long production takes once the house sets the list. No page cited here states a sales total, a share of queries that become deals, or one timeline from finished manuscript to bookshop.[228][278][279][280][281]
- Use each agency's own response line. Do not average Writers House, Nelson Literary Agency, and Janklow & Nesbit UK into one wait.
- If a contract has no publication deadline, the Authors Guild says to add one. The model text is a proposal, not a clause a house has already signed.
- The process page maps the stages. It does not replace the dates in a contract.
Use the guided answer
Apply this to your book
The guide preserves your exact choice in the URL, so you can return to it or send it to someone else.
Open the traditional route