Skip to content
Publishing Map

Process · After the draft

Steps to publish a book: self-publish, or what happens after you write

The steps after a finished draft depend on who publishes the book. Penguin Random House's guide runs from a manuscript or proposal to an agent, then editors, then a contract. Writer Beware describes a small or independent press that can take a manuscript without an agent and is not supposed to charge the author. On Kindle Direct Publishing you prepare the files, enter the listing, and publish it yourself. A time appears below only when the cited page states one. The process page keeps the stage order.

Free · cited · no signup required

Saveable summary

The short answer

  1. Agented path, in Penguin Random House's 21 March 2022 guide: finish the manuscript or proposal, query an agent, let the agent submit, then decide on an offer. Submissions can span weeks or even years.[67][281]
  2. Small or independent press, on Writer Beware's page with links checked 30 December 2025: these houses will work without an agent. A reputable press may skip an advance. It does not charge you to publish. A publication timeline is not stated.[298]
  3. Self-publishing on KDP, in Jumpstart and Create a Book: account, manuscript, and cover, then details, then upload and preview, then rights and pricing. A review duration is not stated on those two pages.[309][310]
  4. After a trade contract, the Authors Guild commentary says standard contracts require publication within 12 to 18 months of acceptance of the complete work.[281]
  5. Penguin Random House, Writer Beware, and KDP each describe a different order. This page keeps those three orders separate.[67][298][309]

01

What are the steps after a finished draft on the agented traditional path?

Penguin Random House's guide, published 21 March 2022 and checked 10 October 2026, gives four steps. Complete the manuscript or proposal. Proposals are common for nonfiction, and full manuscripts are often needed for fiction. Find a literary agent. Historically most major publishers, including Penguin Random House, have not accepted unagented submissions. The house is expanding programs such as the Berkley Open Submission Program, and in most cases an agent is still required. Agents are paid a percentage when they sell the work, not up front, and money flows toward the author. Some agents suggest edits, then submit to editors. There is no guarantee. Submissions very rarely lead to an offer in days. Many manuscripts take multiple rounds spanning weeks or even years, and some authors sell a later manuscript. If an editor is interested, colleagues may do second reads, and most groups decide in an acquisitions meeting. The editor sends a deal memo to the agent. That comparison may take hours, days, or weeks. You have the final say, and a contract follows, with minor negotiations. The Authors Guild commentary, checked the same day, covers the period after acceptance. Standard contracts require publication within 12 to 18 months of acceptance of the complete work. Eighteen months is far more typical, and the Guild believes 12 is fairer. The publisher determines formats, imprint, cover price, and jacket. If the window is missed, the author may demand publication and terminate if the book is still unpublished 6 months after the publisher receives that notice. Up to 24 months is common for illustrated children's books when the author is not delivering the art. Agency reply windows stay on the how-long answer.[67][281]

  • The weeks-or-years line is Penguin Random House's description of submissions to editors.
  • The 12 to 18 months starts at acceptance of the complete work, in the Guild commentary.
  • What to send an agent, and the fee rule, are on the agent and query answers.

02

What are the steps after a finished draft at a small or independent press?

Writer Beware's small and independent publishers page, with links checked 30 December 2025 and read 10 October 2026, says bigger houses are largely closed to unagented writers. Small and independent presses will work without a literary agent and may allow more author input. Evaluate the press before you submit. It is hard to refuse an offer once it is made. For a new press, wait until it has been issuing books for at least a year, preferably longer, with a backlist rather than two or three titles. That year describes the press. A publication time for your book is not stated. Many reputable small presses cannot afford advances. They do not ask for cash up front, withhold royalties to recoup production costs, or require you to buy finished books. If you have to pay in order to be published, the page says you are not dealing with a traditional publisher. Submission-read time and the time from acceptance to publication are not stated. A publisher should add editing, design, cover art, production, and promotion. Smaller staffs rely more on authors for marketing, and the entire burden should not fall on the author. A press that only uploads a copyedited file to KDP, while taking an exclusive contract and a share of sales, is the case the page says does not add value. Bad terms are common. Get qualified advice. There should be some room to negotiate. A royalty percentage is not stated.[298]

  • Working without an agent is the pattern the page describes. It does not say an agent is forbidden.
  • A fee, a required purchase, or royalties withheld to cover production is a different model. Use the offer checker.
  • A publication timeline for this path is not stated.

03

What are the steps after a finished draft if you self-publish?

KDP Jumpstart, checked 10 October 2026, lists six sections. Review the first three before you click + Create: account, manuscript, and cover. Section 4 is title setup, covering details, content, and pricing. Section 5 is publishing and review. Section 6 is promoting the book and getting paid. Create a Book, checked the same day, starts on the Bookshelf: click + Create and choose an ebook, paperback, or hardcover. Title, subtitle, author, series, and the ISBN in the file must match what you enter. Some of those fields lock after publication. HTML is not accepted in the title, subtitle, author, contributors, or keywords. Up to three categories and up to seven keywords go in this details step. Then upload and preview. Each format needs its own ISBN. For print, enter print options before preview. Hardcover is not supported on kdp.amazon.co.jp. Last, set the list price, royalty, and terms, then publish. The price can change later. A print proof is optional, and you may publish immediately or wait. Shipping time for that proof is not stated. New titles are limited to up to 2 created per format each week and up to 2 submitted per format each week, resetting Sunday at 12:00 AM UTC. Updates to a title already submitted do not count. Neither page states how many days review takes.[309][310][84][85]

  • Account, manuscript, and cover come before + Create.
  • Inside title setup the order is details, then files, then price.
  • A review duration is not stated on those two pages.

04

What does the writer do, and what does the publisher do?

On the agented path you finish the manuscript or proposal and query. The agent may suggest edits, then submits. You decide on the offer. After acceptance, the Authors Guild model says the publisher publishes and determines format, imprint, price, and jacket. Penguin Random House's getting-published guide does not list later production jobs. Those windows are on the how-long answer. At a small or independent press you evaluate the house and submit. If it matches the model Writer Beware describes, the press pays and provides editing, design, cover art, production, and a share of promotion. Marketing is shared, and the page does not assign the jobs to a week. On KDP the Jumpstart sections are yours. Those pages do not describe a publisher who edits or designs the book. Hiring an editor or designer is a separate purchase, not a Jumpstart term.[67][281][298][309][310]

  • After a trade contract, production is the publisher's job in the Guild model clause.
  • At a small press, marketing is shared. The page says it should not all be yours.
  • On KDP you upload the files and set the price.

05

Where does each step sit on this map?

The publishing process page lists the jobs that remain after the manuscript. This answer does not rebuild that list. Querying sits on the agent and query-letter answers. Agency reply windows and the Penguin Random House production articles sit on the how-long answer. Routes sit on the path chooser. A press that asks you to pay sits on the offer checker. KDP files sit on the formatting and paperback answers. Categories and keywords sit on their own answer.[67][298][309]

  • Use the path chooser if the route is still open.
  • Use the offer checker before you pay a press.
  • Use the process page for the stage order, and this page for the path order.

Use the guided answer

Apply this to your book

The guide preserves your exact choice in the URL, so you can return to it or send it to someone else.

Compare the routes