Skip to content
Publishing Map

Offers · Checking

Where should you check a publisher before you pay?

Publishing Map's take

Use the resource whose own page matches the question: Writer Beware for a complaint file, the Authors Guild for a member contract review, and Companies House for a UK company record. Publishing Map does not rate vendors, and a BBB rating or a Trustpilot TrustScore is not that rating.

Publishing Map does not rate vendors. Checked on 17 October 2026, the useful check is the one whose own page matches the question you actually have: a complaint file, a member contract review, a UK company record, or a consumer rating that the rating body itself says is not a guarantee. Writer Beware will summarize its file on a named publisher, or say that it has nothing, if you email beware@sfwa.org. Use the offer checker, the vanity comparison, and the contract red-flag page before you pay or sign.

Free · cited · no signup required

Saveable summary

The short answer

  1. Writer Beware, on the SFWA vanity and small-press pages, keeps a file of complaints and reports. The reply is a summary, or a statement that the file has nothing.[479][480]
  2. ALLi's Watchdog Desk rates self-publishing services from Recommended to Caution or Watch. The directory of approved services is free to members and needs a login. Publishing Map does not adopt the ratings.[484]
  3. The Authors Guild reviews contracts at no charge for members whose membership includes legal help. Hybrid contracts usually do not get a line-by-line review. Emerging Writer and Student membership does not include legal help.[483]
  4. Preditors and Editors is still online. Its homepage says to mind the dust. A current publisher index is not stated on that page.[489]
  5. A BBB rating is BBB's opinion, not a government finding. Companies House, via GOV.UK, shows a UK company record and does not rate publishers. A Trustpilot TrustScore is not a publishing audit.[490][491][492][493]

01

What does each checking resource say it covers?

Use the row whose own page matches the question. A rating on one row is not a substitute for a contract on another. Publishing Map does not turn any of these labels into its own score.[479][480][483][484][489][490][491][492][493]

What each checking page says it covers
ResourceWhat its own page says it coversWhat it does not say
Writer BewareEmail beware@sfwa.org. It summarizes its file on the publisher, or says it has nothing.It is not a government register and not a star rating.
ALLi WatchdogRatings from Recommended to Caution or Watch, on pricing, quality, contracts, transparency, and satisfaction. Awards are evaluated. The approved-services directory is free to members.The public page does not make Publishing Map a rater. A member login is required for the directory.
Authors Guild contract reviewMembers whose membership includes legal help get a review at no charge. Hybrid contracts usually get a checklist and answers, not a line-by-line review.Emerging Writer and Student membership does not include legal help. A membership price is not stated on this page.
Preditors and EditorsThe homepage is up. It asks readers to mind the dust, says it has new staff, and says it moved to WordPress.A current publisher index is not stated on that page.
Better Business BureauA rating from A+ to F is BBB's opinion of how a business is likely to interact with customers. NR means no rating, not a failing grade. Reviews are not used in the letter grade.BBB's FAQ says it is not a government agency. Accreditation is voluntary and separate. Dues do not buy a rating. A rating is not a guarantee.
GOV.UK company searchFree company information: registered address, date of incorporation, current and resigned officers, document images, mortgage charge data, previous names, and insolvency.It does not rate publishers. A US federal equivalent was not verified for this page.
Trustpilot Trust CentreOpen reviews, automated fake-review checks, and a TrustScore from review count, age, and a weighting that includes seven reviews at 3.5 stars. Businesses cannot pay to remove reviews.A TrustScore is not a publishing audit. 7.8 million reviews were removed as fake in 2025, on Trustpilot's own page.
  • If the company calls itself traditional and asks for money, the Writer Beware row comes before a star rating.
  • If you already have a contract and you are a Guild member whose membership includes legal help, the contract-review row comes before you sign.

02

What does Writer Beware actually send back?

The vanity page says to email beware@sfwa.org with the publisher's name. SFWA has a file on vanity publishers that engage in questionable practices. The reply is a summary of what is in the file. If there is nothing, Writer Beware says it will tell you that too. The small-press page says the same for complaints or reports, and it points to the Absolute Write Water Cooler as a forum where writers discuss experiences. That forum is not an SFWA finding. ALLi's Watchdog page, led by John Doppler, says its mission is to protect authors from predatory practices in the self-publishing sector. Ratings run from Recommended to Caution or Watch, based on pricing and value, service quality, contracts and rights, transparency, and customer satisfaction. The page says awards and contests are evaluated. The directory of approved services is available free of charge to members, and the page says a login is needed. Publishing Map does not copy ALLi's company labels onto this page, and it does not treat an ALLi rating as its own.[479][480][484]

  • A reply that the file has nothing is still an answer. It is not a clean bill from a regulator.
  • The Watchdog guidebook title on that page is not repeated here, because this page does not rank services.

03

What does a contract review cover, and what does a company register cover?

The Authors Guild contract-review page says the legal team reviews contracts at no charge for members. The types it lists are traditional publishing, e-publishing and self-publishing, agency agreements, multi-media deals, film options, freelance agreements, and other book-related contracts. For a hybrid publisher, the page says contracts are usually offered on a non-negotiable basis, with a few exceptions, so the Guild does not provide the usual line-by-line review. It offers a checklist and answers specific questions. The footnote says Emerging Writer and Student membership does not include legal help at this time. GOV.UK's company-information page says you can get some details for free: registered address and date of incorporation, current and resigned officers, document images, mortgage charge data, previous company names, and insolvency information. You can also set up free email alerts when the company updates its details. That page does not score the company's books, contracts, or royalties. A search of US federal company registers that would match this GOV.UK page was not completed for this answer, so a US equivalent is not stated. The offer checker is the page that asks who pays and who holds the rights. A company number does not answer that.[483][492]

  • If the contract is hybrid, ask the Guild the specific question. Do not expect the line-by-line review the page says it usually withholds.
  • A UK company that is on the register can still be a fee-charging publisher. The register shows that the company exists.

04

What do BBB and Trustpilot say their scores are not?

BBB's overview says: 'A BBB rating represents BBB's opinion of how a business is likely to interact with its customers, based on complaint history, transparency, and available public data.' Ratings run from A+ to F. NR means no rating, and the page says NR is not a grade and is not negative. 'Customer reviews are not used in the letter-grade calculation.' 'A rating is not a guarantee of a business's reliability or performance.' The FAQ says BBB is a nonprofit, that it is not a government agency and holds no regulatory power, and that accreditation is voluntary and separate from the rating. It also says accreditation dues do not buy a rating and do not remove a complaint. Trustpilot's Trust Centre says all submitted reviews are checked by automated fake-review detection, that businesses can engage with feedback but can never pay to remove reviews, and that reviews can be written about a genuine experience and not only after a purchase invitation. The TrustScore is based on the number of reviews, how old they are, and a weighting that includes seven reviews at 3.5 stars. The page states '400m+ Total number of active reviews on Trustpilot as of December 2025' and '7.8m Reviews detected as fake and removed in 2025.' Flagging exists. None of that is a reading of a publishing contract. Preditors and Editors' homepage, fetched the same day, is still up and says 'Please mind the dust.' It says new staff have been taken on, the site moved to WordPress, the signup form has had problems, and readers should follow the site on Facebook until then. A current index of publishers is not stated on that page.[489][490][491][493]

  • A high BBB letter or a high TrustScore does not answer who pays for editing, design, and print.
  • If Preditors and Editors later publishes a new index, this page does not describe it, because the homepage checked on 17 October 2026 does not.

05

If you are about to pay, which check comes first?

Match the question to the resource, then still read the contract. The order below is a decision rule by situation. It is not a ranking of the organizations.[479][483][492]

If this is the question, use this source first
If you need to knowUse this first
Whether Writer Beware has a complaint fileEmail beware@sfwa.org with the company name.
Whether a hybrid claim meets a published standardIBPA's 11 criteria, then the vanity comparison. ALLi's rating is ALLi's, not that list.
What the contract gives away, and you are an eligible Guild memberThe Authors Guild review, before you sign.
Whether a UK company is on the registerGOV.UK company information. It will not rate the books.
What shoppers have said in publicBBB or Trustpilot, with the limits those pages print. Neither is a publishing audit.
  • If the pitch arrived after you posted that the book was finished, read the unsolicited-help answer before any of these lookups.
  • The offer checker is the step that asks whether the company is a publisher that pays, a hybrid claim, or a service.

Use the guided answer

Apply this to your book

The guide preserves your exact choice in the URL, so you can return to it or send it to someone else.

Vet this offer