01
Who pays for editing in traditional publishing?
The Authors Guild article of 30 July 2026, checked 11 October 2026, says traditional publishers carry out editing, design, printing, distribution, and marketing, and that they absorb those costs. Penguin Random House's guide of 21 March 2022, checked the same day, says agents are paid a percentage when they sell the work, not up front, that money flows toward the author, and that a book deal should never be pay to play. Its March 2023 production article, also checked 11 October 2026, says a production manager estimates the cost of preparing the book, including copyediting, cover art, proofreading, and typesetting. Copyediting is typically done by freelancers who are vetted and hired for Penguin Random House projects. The author reviews the edited manuscript. That article does not say the author is invoiced for those freelancers. An editing price on a trade contract is not stated on these pages.[315][316][317]
- The Guild's point is that the traditional publisher absorbs the editing cost.
- Penguin Random House describes house-hired freelance copyeditors inside production.
- An editing price for a trade contract is not stated on these pages.
02
Who pays for editing at a small or independent press?
Writer Beware's small and independent publishers page, read 11 October 2026, says many small presses cannot pay advances. It says they do not ask for cash up front, withhold royalties to recoup production costs, or require you to buy finished books. If you have to give the publisher money in order to be published, up front or through book purchases or withheld royalties, the page says you are not dealing with a traditional publisher. It also says a publisher should add editing, design, cover art, production, and promotion. An editing price and a publication timeline are not stated.[318]
- No cash up front is the page's line for a traditional small press.
- A fee, a required purchase, or royalties withheld to cover production is a different model.
- An editing invoice is not stated.
03
Who pays for editing in self-publishing?
KDP's start page, checked 11 October 2026, says you can self-publish ebooks, paperbacks, and hardcovers for free. KDP Jumpstart, checked the same day, has six sections. It recommends reviewing the first three before you click + Create: set up the account, prepare the manuscript, and prepare the cover. The later sections are title setup, publishing and review, and promoting the book and getting paid. Neither page says KDP assigns an editor or pays for editing. An editing fee is not stated. If you hire a freelance editor, that invoice is yours. The cited planning figures for those passes are on the self-publishing cost answer and are not repeated here.[320][321]
- Free on the KDP page means no charge to publish those formats. It does not say editing is included.
- Preparing the manuscript is a Jumpstart step assigned to you.
- What a freelance edit costs is on the self-publishing cost answer.
04
Who pays for editing with a hybrid publisher?
The Authors Guild says hybrid publishers carry out editing, design, printing, distribution, and marketing rather than leaving those tasks to the author, and that they charge authors upfront fees. The article says those fees can range from a couple thousand to tens of thousands of dollars, and that the payment is meant to cover a share of the costs a traditional publisher would absorb. That range is the Guild's description of the publishing fee, not a price for editing alone. Writer Beware's vanity and hybrid page, read 11 October 2026, says a hybrid publisher contracts on an exclusive basis, charges a fee, and is described as adding editing, design, marketing, and/or distribution. It says hybrid fees can be extremely costly. It does not state one price. A company that uses the word hybrid is not, by that word alone, the model either page describes.[315][319]
- The Guild's dollar range is the hybrid publishing fee, not an editing-only line.
- Writer Beware does not publish one hybrid fee.
- Whether a named company matches that description is not settled here. Use the offer checker.
05
Where are the answers on who does the work, and what it costs?
This page is only about who pays. Who handles the passes is on the who-handles answers for traditional trade and for self-publishing. What an edit costs when you hire it, and what the traditional route costs the author up front, are on the cost answers. Those pages are not restated here. A press that asks you to pay sits on the offer checker.[315][318][320]
- Traditional trade: who handles the work, and what that route costs the author.
- Self-publishing: who handles the work, and what a hired edit costs.
- Use the offer checker before you pay a press.
Use the guided answer
Apply this to your book
The guide preserves your exact choice in the URL, so you can return to it or send it to someone else.
Open the editing stage