01
What is a realistic total range?
This page does not invent one invoice. Chapter's third-party estimate for a lean build, doing most of the work yourself, is under $1,000. Reedsy's third-party estimate for a professional build is roughly $2,940 to $5,660, and the fuller figure recorded with Chapter is $8,000 or more. The route envelope after the manuscript exists is about $0 to $8,000+. Advertising and a full audiobook sit outside it.[21][39]
- Under $1,000: Chapter's lean third-party estimate.
- Roughly $2,940 to $5,660: Reedsy's professional third-party estimate.
- $8,000 or more: the fuller third-party figure, inside an envelope of about $0 to $8,000+.
02
Which costs are required and which are optional?
KDP does not charge a setup, editing, or design fee. Publishing the ebook, paperback, or hardcover on KDP is free. Drafting in a word processor, beta readers, Kindle Create or Reedsy Studio formatting, and a cover made in a free tool can each be $0. Hiring an editor, a cover designer, or a formatter is optional. It is the difference between the lean estimate and the professional estimate. No page here says those hires are required before KDP will accept a file.[40][41][48][243]
- Required to click publish on KDP: no publication fee.
- Optional paid help: editing, cover design, and formatting, each with a do-it-yourself line at $0.
- A ghostwriter is a separate writing cost. Reedsy and Chapter, as third-party estimates, put a full book at about $5,000 to $100,000 or more. That range is not part of the production envelope above.
03
How do editing and cover design dominate the budget?
The large editing and cover lines are third-party estimates, not official prices. Reedsy estimates a developmental edit at about $2,880 for 80,000 words, a proofread at about $800 to $1,600, and an editing stack at roughly $3,600 to $8,000. A human line and copy edit is about $1,000 to $3,000 in that Reedsy estimate and in the Editorial Freelancers Association 2026 rate chart, a survey of what members charged in 2025. The association does not set rates. Reedsy estimates a professional cover at about $625 to $1,250 and a premade cover at $100 to $150. Atticus publishes $147, and Vellum publishes $199.99 to $249.99. A hired formatter is only a planning bound of a few hundred dollars here, not a vendor price.[12][14][15][19][47]
- Editing figures are third-party estimates from Reedsy, and the line-and-copy range also uses the EFA member survey.
- Cover figures are third-party estimates from Reedsy.
- Atticus and Vellum prices are the vendors' published prices. The hired-formatter bound is not.
04
What do the platforms charge?
KDP's start page says ebooks, paperbacks, and hardcovers can be published for free. Printing is on demand: KDP subtracts the print cost from the royalty, with no upfront inventory. Ebook royalty options are 35 percent and 70 percent, a share of the sale rather than an upload fee. Draft2Digital's FAQ states a non-refundable one-time activation fee of $20 for new accounts that want to publish, and a $12 annual fee for accounts that earn less than $100 a year. Accounts with no titles in distribution are not charged that annual fee. The same FAQ says commission is approximately 10 percent of the retail price. IngramSpark's pricing page says it costs nothing to sign up or to upload a print book or ebook, and that you earn 85 percent of the net revenue it receives on an ebook sale. IngramSpark deducts a market access fee. Its discount article says that fee comes off the wholesale price along with the print cost. Neither that article nor the public pricing page states the percentage. Do not budget a percentage the current public page does not show.[22][26][27][243][244][221]
- KDP publication fee: $0. Print cost comes out of the royalty.
- Draft2Digital FAQ: $20 to activate, $12 a year when sales are under $100, and about 10 percent of retail price as commission.
- IngramSpark deducts a market access fee. The public pricing page does not state the percentage.
05
How do ISBN and copyright fees fit in?
An International Standard Book Number (ISBN) is not always a bill. KDP says ebooks do not require an ISBN. A free KDP ISBN is for paperback and hardcover only, it is KDP-only, and the imprint displays as Independently published. Bowker's self-publisher page lists $125 for one US ISBN, $295 for ten, $575 for 100, and $1,500 for 1,000. US copyright registration is separate from publishing. The Copyright Office fee table, checked on 6 October 2026, lists $45 for an electronic filing by a single author who is the claimant, for one work, not for hire. The standard application is $65. Paper filing is $125. A proposed fee schedule has been sent to Congress. The fee table itself does not state a date when that proposal replaces these amounts.[223][51][231]
- Free KDP ISBN: print only, and only for use on KDP.
- Bowker self-publisher prices: $125, $295, $575, or $1,500, by block size.
- Copyright Office electronic fees on the current table: $45 or $65. The office does not say registration is a KDP requirement.
06
How does the publishing path change who pays?
The same manuscript does not create the same bill. On this map, traditional trade and independent press production is £0 / $0 from the author, because the publisher pays. Specialised and institutional publishing is usually £0 / $0 as well. Self-publishing is the route where you pay, inside the envelope above. Hybrid is different: you pay for a managed process, and the comparison line is thousands to tens of thousands. That line is not an itemised invoice. Use the offer checker before you treat a fee-charging company as a publisher.[5][11][22]
- Publisher-funded routes: £0 / $0 upfront from the author.
- Self-publishing: you pay, from about $0 to $8,000+.
- Hybrid: thousands to tens of thousands on the map's comparison line, then verify the actual offer.
07
How do I use the cost calculator?
The cost calculator applies these ranges. Its presets are publisher-funded at $0 upfront, lean self-publishing under $1,000, professional self-publishing at roughly $2,940 to $5,660, and hybrid at thousands to tens of thousands. The lean and professional presets are the Chapter and Reedsy third-party estimates, not official quotes. Turn stages on or off, and read the editing, cover, formatting, and ISBN answers before you treat a preset as your book. It does not price ads, and it does not replace the ACX terms.[21][39][256]
- Start with a preset, then open the stage answers linked from this page.
- Keep advertising spend out of the production total.
- For audio, read the ACX answer. ACX does not publish one production price.
Use the guided answer
Apply this to your book
The guide preserves your exact choice in the URL, so you can return to it or send it to someone else.
Build my cost estimate